Bazaruto Archipelago

The Bazaruto Archipelago is a group of six islands in Mozambique, near the mainland city of Vilankulo. It comprises the islands of Bazaruto, Benguerra, Magaruque, Banque, Santa Carolina (also known as Paradise Island) and Shell. Nyati Island is located further south.

It has been speculated that the Bazaruto Archipelago may be the island named Crocodile (Persian Sūsmār) mentioned in the 11th-century Egyptian Kitāb Gharāʾib al-funūn wa-mulaḥ al-ʿuyūn (The Book of Curiosities of the Sciences and Marvels for the Eyes). This island is the last place in a list of sites along the East African coast known to Egyptian merchants and is the fifth stop after Kilwa. Bazaruto supports a substantial population of crocodiles.[1]

^ M. Horton (2018), "The Swahili Corridor Revisited", African Archaeological Review, 35(2), 341–346. doi:10.1007/s10437-018-9294-2
Photographies by:
Statistics: Position (field_position)
Statistics: Rank (field_order)

Add new comment

Esta pregunta es para comprobar si usted es un visitante humano y prevenir envíos de spam automatizado.

573829416Click/tap this sequence: 6371

Google street view

Where can you sleep near Bazaruto Archipelago ?
448.965 visits in total, 9.075 Points of interest, 403 Destinations, 18 visits today.