Tromostovje

( Triple Bridge )

The Triple Bridge (Slovene: Tromostovje, in older sources also Tromostje) comprises three bridges spanning the Ljubljanica River in Ljubljana, the capital of Slovenia. It connects the historical medieval town on the southeastern bank with the central Prešeren Square on the northwestern bank. Dating back to the 13th century, it stands as the oldest bridge in Ljubljana. In the early 1930s, the architect Jože Plečnik redesigned and expanded it. In August 2021, the Triple Bridge was added to the UNESCO World Heritage List as part of Plečnik's enduring legacy.

 The Latin inscription on the upstream side of the central bridge: "To Archduke Franz Karl. 1842. The town."

There is mention of a wooden bridge in this location from 1280. It was at first called the Old Bridge (Stari most) and later the Lower Bridge (Spodnji most), in contrast to the Upper Bridge that was built in the location of the nowadays Cobblers' Bridge in the same century. It was also named the Špital Bridge (Špitalski most) after the nearby poorhouse, which was established in the early 14th century. It was built anew in 1657 after a fire.

In 1842, the Lower Bridge was replaced by a new bridge designed by Giovanni Picco, an Italian architect from Villach, and named Franz's Bridge, (Frančev most) in honor of Archduke Franz Karl of Austria. It also became known as the Franciscan Bridge (Frančiškanski most). This bridge, opened on 25 September 1842, had two arches and a metal fence. The essentials of the bridge have been preserved until today, which is evidenced by the inscribed dedication to the archduke above its central pier, reading in Latin "ARCHIDVCI. FRANCISCO. CAROLO. MDCCCXLII. CIVITAS.", which means "To Archduke Franz Karl in 1842 by the Town."[1][2]

In order to prevent the 1842 stone arch bridge from being a bottleneck, the architect Jože Plečnik designed in 1929 the extension of the bridge with two footbridges at a slight angle on each side of it. In collaboration with his student Ciril Tavčar, who drew the plans, he published the proposal in the same year in the journal Ljubljanski zvon.[3] Construction started in 1931 and continued until spring 1932. The bridge was opened for traffic in April 1932.

The bridge was renovated in 1992. Since 2007, all the three bridges have been part of the Ljubljana pedestrian-only zone.

^ Jamšek, Eva. "Ljubljanica - večni izziv umetnikov, ustvarjalcev in pomembnih osebnosti: Tromostovje" [The Ljubljanica, the Eternal Challenge to Artists, Creators, and Important Personalities: The Triple Bridge]. BIC zgodba [BIC story] (PDF). p. 9. ^ Stopar, Ivan; Prelovšek, Damjan (1992). Walks in old Ljubljana: a guide to its culture and history. Marketing 013 ZTP. p. 73. ^ Plečnik, Jože; Tavčar, Ciril (1929). "Frančiškansko mostovje" [Franciscan Bridges]. Ljubljanski Zvon (in Slovenian). Katoliško tiskovno društvo. 42 (5). COBISS 31722241.
Photographies by:
Statistics: Position
7481
Statistics: Rank
7147

Add new comment

CAPTCHA
Security
426138597Click/tap this sequence: 1771
Esta pregunta es para comprobar si usted es un visitante humano y prevenir envíos de spam automatizado.

Google street view

Where can you sleep near Triple Bridge ?

Booking.com
543.286 visits in total, 9.237 Points of interest, 405 Destinations, 406 visits today.